Skip to content

BREAKING: Democrats’ include Immigration in Budget Reconciliation, with support from Moderate Senator Manchin

Nationwide– Earlier today, Senate Democrats announced their $3.5 trillion budget reconciliation package which would include a pathway to citizenship for Dreamers, TPS Holders, Farmworkers and essential workers.

The proposal is another step towards achieving justice for immigrants this year, however it still awaits a long way from becoming a reality as it awaits the approval of the parliamentarian and the support of at least 50 democrats in the senate. Democratic Senator Joe Manchin, who is a prominent moderate, came out in support of immigration reform being included in the deal.

In response to the recent news, the National TPS Alliance made the following statement:

“We welcome Senate Democrats’ inclusion of green cards for TPS holders, Dreamers, farmworkers and essential workers and hope that we can finally accomplish much needed immigration reform which can benefit millions of people in our community. We are also delighted to hear that even Senator Manchin has come out in support of immigration being included in this deal, despite his reputation as a moderate democrat who would be opposed. While this is positive news, we still have to ask if he is willing to ensure that TPS holders, farmworkers, and essential workers are not left out of the final deal. Is he willing to stand with our migrant families until we get this done? The National TPS Alliance intends to use its power of TPS holders from across the country to hold Senator Manchin and the Democratic party accountable and will continue to place public pressure on the rest of congress until these words are converted into reality. Residency NOW!” -Veronica Lagunas, TPS Holder, San Fernando TPS Committee, Spokesperson for the National TPS Alliance


The National TPS Alliance is a grassroots organization comprised of over 50 committees nationwide, advocating for the permanent residency of beneficiaries of Temporary Protected Status from the countries of El Salvador, Honduras, Haiti, Nicaragua, Nepal, Syria, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Yemen


Back To Top