Skip to content

For Immediate Release

September 8, 2023

Media Contact

Erik Villalobos,

BREAKING: DHS Extends Re-Registration Period for TPS Holders of El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, & Nepal

(Houston) — In a victory for justice and common sense, the Department of Homeland Security today (DHS) announced that it is extending from 60 days to 18 months the periods to re-register for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for beneficiaries of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan.

Thousands of TPS holders risked losing their work authorizations and protections from deportation — due to looming deadlines to re-register for the program which included a September 10th deadline for Salvadorans. TPS beneficiaries will now have an 18 month registration period to renew their status. These are the new re-registration periods:

  • El Salvador now runs through March 9, 2025
  • Haiti now runs through Aug. 3, 2024
  • Honduras now runs through July 5, 2025
  • Nepal now runs through June 24, 2025
  • Nicaragua now runs through July 5, 2025
  • Sudan now runs through April 19, 2025

José Palma, a TPS holder and national spokesperson for the National TPS Alliance, made the following statement on behalf of the Alliance:

“This news is major relief for thousands of TPS beneficiaries and a direct result of political pressure led by the TPS community and its allies!

The number of applicants at consulates and resource centers has reportedly been lower than expected, so clearly many of them were unaware of the new re-registration process. We feared that a disproportionate number of TPS holders could lose their status, particularly Salvadorans who had just a few days before Sept. 10.

The National TPS Alliance reaffirms its commitment to ensure that every TPS holder re-registers for their work authorizations and protections. We will also continue to call for the Biden Administration to take an additional step towards re-designating and expanding the TPS program to advance rights for migrants who are living without status and who cannot return to their native countries due to ongoing political turmoil and the devastating impacts of climate change.” 


Back To Top