Skip to content

For Planning Purposes

March 18, 2021

Media Contact

Erik Villalobos, (626) 491-3330,

Viridiana Vidal, (702) 206-2110,

TPS Families Declare a Hunger Strike to Call on Biden & Congress to Grant Immediate Path to Citizenship

See Narrative:

“Why Are TPS Families Declaring a Hunger Strike?”

Nationwide– From March 19 to April 30, TPS Families will be gathered in Freedom Plaza of Washington DC for 43 day hunger strike to pressure the Biden administration and congress to take immediate action on the demands of TPS families, who continue to wait for President Biden to deliver on his promise to fully restore the TPS program and for congress to finally grant a permanent residency for over 400,000 TPS beneficiaries.

TPS families from across the country will participate in the hunger strike for a minimum of three days and officially began their strike just one day after the House of Representatives passed vote on the Dream & Promise Act, a critical piece of immigration legislation which would provide an immediate path to citizenship for beneficiaries of DACA & TPS.

Throughout the duration of the hunger strike, participants will be in a temporary campaign site located in Liberty Plaza of Washington DC, where TPS families will also host weekly press conferences, teach-ins, live musical performances, and hand out educational materials.


  • BLACK LIVES MATTER Plaza (16th & I St.), NW Washington DC 20010 (Press Conference)
  • Freedom Plaza, 1339 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, DC 20006 (LOCATION OF HUNGER STRIKE)


  • Members of the National TPS Alliance
  • Trabajadores Unidos Washington DC 
  • Laborers’ International Union of North America (LIUNA)
  • DC TPS Coalition
  • The National Day Laborer Organizing Network (NDLON)
  • The Central American Resource Center in Los Angeles (CARECEN-LA)


The National TPS Alliance is a grassroots organization comprised of over 50 committees nationwide, advocating for the permanent residency of beneficiaries of Temporary Protected Status from the countries of El Salvador, Honduras, Haiti, Nicaragua, Nepal, Syria, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Yemen


Back To Top