skip to Main Content

For Immediate Release:
October 1, 2020

Media Contact: 

Erik Villalobos, (516) 660-4508,

Martín Pineda, (562) 916-5650


Aurora, CO– On Thursday October 1, 2020, TPS families  ‘On the Road to Justice: Residency Now’ nationwide bus tour, alongside SARCO (Salvadorans Residing in Colorado) were able to hold a virtual meeting with new Salvadoran Ambassador to the US, Milena Mayorga. The meeting was held in response to the ambassador’s recent comments via twitter in which she talks about the ‘repatriation’ of Salvadorans. The National TPS Alliance responded with a letter asking that she clarifies her position on TPS families.

The National TPS Alliance made the following statements:

“We want to thank our friends at SARCO for not only welcoming us to Colorado but for also giving us the space to voice the sentiments of the TPS community and to make it clear to Ambassador Mayorga that our families are here and for that reason, we plan to remain here [United States].

The meeting, while brief, allowed us to reaffirm our position in the letter and gave the ambassador the opportunity to clarify the statements she had previously made on Twitter, stating that she was not referring to the repatriation of Salvadoran TPS holders, that she has, and will continue to support our fight for permanent residency, and that she plans to meet with us in Washington DC as soon as possible.

We made several demands to the ambassador, which include an invitation for a longer meeting open to all of the members of the National TPS Alliance so that the ambassador can understand the frustrations of TPS holders who intend to continue their fight to remain in the United States. We also asked that the ambassador joins other Salvadoran politicians of all party affiliations to accompany TPS holders and lobby alongside us in congress.”


The National TPS Alliance is a grassroots organization advocating for the permanent residency of beneficiaries of Temporary Protected Status from the countries of El Salvador, Honduras, Haiti, Nicaragua, Nepal, Syria, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Yemen 


Back To Top